STATE OF NEVADA DIVISION OF PUBLIC AND BEHAVIORAL HEALTH COMMUNITY SERVICES ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH SECTION



INFORMATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF FREE SALE

A Certificate of Free Sale is defined as a certificate completed and issued by the Division of Public and Behavioral Services attesting that a specific food, drug, cosmetic product regulated by the State of Nevada Administrative Code or Nevada Revised Statute is manufactured, distributed and offered for sale in this State is labeled in conformance with the applicable food, drug, or cosmetic laws. Furthermore, the Certificate of Free Sale attests to the results of the most recently conducted sanitary inspection of the manufacturer or distributor of the product. Certificates of Free Sale for processed food products, dietary supplements, vitamins, baby formula, etc. can be obtained through the Environmental Health Section.

Requirements for the certificates of free sale are described in Nevada Administrative Code 446.844 and can be found at the Nevada Law Library by following this link: https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NAC/NAC-446.html.

Certificates of Free Sale are required by many foreign countries in order to receive food, cosmetic or drug imports. The certificates certify that a company is in substantial compliance with the State and federal standards and are equivalent to products marketed domestically in the United States.

Applicants submit an application which must include a signed statement verifying the food products listed on the application are freely marketed in Nevada.

A copy of the label of the product(s) requesting to be exported must be attached to the application. For labels not already approved by the FDA, labels must be reviewed and approved by the Community Services, Environmental Health Section before a Certificate of Free Sale will be issued. A label review fee of \$83.00 will be applied to each new label and significant changes to labels.

Certificates will no longer by notarized by Environmental Health Staff. Certificates with space for the applicant to notarize their signature are available at the applicants' request.

Fax or Scan Completed Application for Certificate of Free Sale to:

Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health, Environmental Health Section

Attention: Paul Cohen

Email: pcohen@health.nv.gov

Phone: (775) 687-7571

Please Note:

- Allow a minimum of 5 working days for your application to be processed.
- There is a \$41.00 fee for each certificate. Each certificate is limited to 5 items. An additional fee will be charged for replacement or voided certificates.